Monthly Favourites – September

Music

Album of the Month: Ailee – Magazine

I’ve been looking forward to Ailee making a comeback for a while now, and I was heaps happy to hear that she was coming out with a new mini, and boy am I happy with Magazine. Magazine contains 5 different tracks and an instrumental version of the lead single “Don’t Touch Me“. The album is pretty diverse featuring songs that showcase her powerful vocals from the fast paced lead single to the slower ballad of “Goodbye Now” which as the title suggests is about moving on from a past love. My favourite song off the album however would have to be “Teardrop” which is the final song on the album tracklist, and although it’s got a bit of a Western feel to it, it’s an edgy r&b pop song that concludes the album perfectly.

Song/s of the Month: Royal Pirates – Love Toxic, Ed Sheeran – Afire Love, Beatburger – Rising, Song Ji Eun – Don’t Look at Me Like That

Korean American rock band Royal Pirates released their second mini album back in August featuring a mix of English and Korean sung music.  Love Toxic is the lead single from the mini album and also the name of the mini, the song is up beat and catchy and with lyrics like “Just by looking at your eyes, I think I know your heart” and “I wanna steal your lips, kiss me babe, I wanna fall in love, deeper and deeper” it’s hard not to get drawn in to the song. Personally they sound like a mix between CNBlue and American band Parachute two bands that I really like, so Royal Pirates being the inbetween by default means I like them too…lol.

Singer/songwriter Ed Sheeran is probably my number #1 favourite Western artist, I fell in love with his debut album “+” and his second studio album “x” is just as amazing. Although songs like “I See Fire” which he sung for the second Hobbit movie and “Tenerife Sea“, “One” okay basically all the songs off the album are amazing my favourite would be “Afire Love“. The song is a piano driven ballad, and although not one of Ed’s slower songs (“Kiss Me” off his first album would have to be my favourite of his slower songs), the lyrics really stay with you, lyrics such as “Darling, hold me in your arms the way you did last night”. The song was written for his grandfather who suffered from Alzeihmers and Ed completed it on the day of his funeral.

Beatburger finally released their first mini album which consists of 6 different tracks although three of the six are just different versions of their lead single “She So High“. My favourite off the album would be track #1 “Rising” which is basically an EDM track, the song is only 1:44mins long but so awesome.

Secrets’s Song Ji Eun released her latest solo single titled “Don’t Look at Me Like That” which focuses on the relationships not often touched by society, homosexuals, interracial couples etc and the equality of love. The MV for the song is also pretty interesting because it can be translated in two ways. 1. she is chained down by society and looked at as an interesting commodity because she does not love like society dictates or 2. the chains and anonymous people in masks trying to buy her allude to the society of human trafficking, she is paraded in front of them like an object ready to be sold off to the highest bidder.

M/V of the Month: Younha – Umbrella

Solo artist Younha actually featured on Epik High’s original version of this song, however it was gifted to her by Tablo and she has remade it into a ballad fitting of her vocals. The MV has kind of a wistful tone to it with two lovers intersecting paths but never actually meeting, walking their paths to the background of rain.

Television

Drama of the Month: It’s Okay, It’s Love

Yup, I’m going to admit to marathoning this drama for a few days and I don’t regret it, because the drama is amazing and I would have curled in to a little ball if I watched it while it was still airing because those cliffhangers really bring out the waterworks. The drama is written beautifully, the characters are amazing, the cast is talented, most notably Jo In Sung, Gong Hyo Jin and EXO’s Kyungsoo not to mention the OST was pretty cool and different. IOIL hooked me because of its difference to other current dramas, its topic of society and their views of people who suffer from mental disorder as well as the more adult romance between Jae Yeol and Hae Soo. Jae Yeol and Hae Soo didn’t tip toe over their issues and what I really loved was they they could tell each other everything and would comfort the other person no matter what and I think that type of communication and understanding is not seen in a lot of dramas. I think that if there is one drama that I would recommend people to watch this year it would be this one.

Misc.

Book of the Month: Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins

The final book in the series, Stephanie Perkins takes the readers back to where it all started. Paris and the School of America. This time the book follows Isla and Josh, two characters who were both mentioned in the first book, Anna and the French Kiss. Although personally I found this not as amazing as the first book, Isla and the Happily Ever After still managed to pull my heartstrings and reminded me why I fell in love with the series in the first place. It’s an awesome and swoonworthy conclusion to the series and features appearances from Anna and Etienne and Lola and Cricket which were a nice touch, and although I wish she would add to the series and just keep on doing these kind of swoon worthy romances, I’m also looking forward to seeing new content from her.

Leave a comment

